Diocesan Liturgy Council

Diocesan Liturgy Council


The full, conscious and active participation of the faithful in liturgy,
the source of the true Christian Spirit and all missionary endeavour 
[Constitution on the Sacred Liturgy (SC) a. 14, 10]


To be of service to the diocesan community by engaging in dialogue that promotes a passion for the spirit of the sacred liturgy and an understanding of its principles and practice such that the celebration of the liturgy is appropriate for the community who gathers. (SC a. 14, 17, 43-45)


  • Allen Brierley
  • Monique Crick
  • Daniel Chun Wei Lee (Associate Member)
  • Fr Andrew Doohan – Master of Ceremonies (Ex Officio Member)
  • Fiona Duque - Officer Worship and Prayer, Pastoral Ministries
  • Uta France (Deputy Chair)
  • Louise Gannon rsj (Secretary) – Manager Worship and Prayer, Pastoral Ministries
  • Petrina Massey (Associate Member)
  • Cathy White (Chair)
  • Ed Wright (Associate Member)

Consultants to the Diocesan Liturgy Council

  • Anne Millard - Director of Cathedral Music
  • Catholic Schools Office Religious Education and Spirituality Team

Council news

Read the latest reports from Diocesan Liturgy Council meetings:  

Council documents and procedures

For further information about the council please read the following documents:

The council can be contacted by emailing liturgy@mn.catholic.org.au

The council meets on the second Wednesday of each month.

Council groups

The Diocesan Liturgy Council has established a range of groups which assist in in responding to particular issues, and also increases the number of people involved in diocesan liturgical ministry. These groups include:

Diocesan Liturgy Forums

  • Christian Initiation
  • Stepping Stones

Working Parties

  • Synod Liturgies
  • St Josephine Bakhita

Standing Committees

  • Chrism Mass
  • Perpetual day of Remembrance

The Diocesan Liturgy Council also shares a close relationship with the College of Assistant Masters of Ceremonies