Religious Congregations

Religious Congregations

Religious Congregations are groups of men or women who have chosen to express their Christian commitment by living in community and taking lifelong vows - usually vows of poverty, chastity and obedience. 

These women and men commit their lives to serving God and the Church through prayer and sacrifice, living and working alongside the Church, seeking to love and serve everyone they encounter.

These congregations are governed according to their constitutions, which are usually approved by the Pope, or in some cases the local bishop. They cannot work in a diocese without the consent of a bishop and they can often own property and institutions.

In the Catholic Diocese of Maitland-Newcastle, there are currently twelve religious congregations working (three male and nine female). These religious congregations offer a range of pastoral, social welfare, educational, aged care and health services for people in our community.

Religious congregations in the diocese include:

For information about joining a religious congregation, please visit the Vocations page.