A ‘Parish’ is generally territorial and can include one or more churches, for example, it embraces all Christ's faithful of a given geographical area (Canon 518). A parish is defined as “a community of Christ's faithful, stably established within a particular church, whose pastoral care, under the authority of the diocesan bishop, is entrusted to a parish priest as its proper pastor" (Canon 511).


Only the diocesan bishop, after consultation with his Council of Priests, can establish, suppress or alter parishes (Canon 515.2).


The parishes within the Catholic Diocese of Maitland Newcastle are: